AACS honours convenience standouts

A mix of high-profile operators, young stars, industry leading brands and emerging innovators were among those honoured at the 2019 AACS Gala & Awards Dinner last night.

Underpinning the night’s festivities was this year’s theme of ‘Embrace Change’, as around 700 of the Australian convenience industry’s best came together at The Star in Darling Harbour, Sydney, to recognise the most outstanding individual and company efforts in a big year for the sector.

This year’s Retailer of the Year was BP and the Supplier of the Year award went to PepsiCo.

The Store of the Year awards went to BP Penrith (company operated) and 7-Eleven Hallam (franchise/independent).

The AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Industry Awards are awarded to outstanding young people for their innovative, out-of-the-box thinking. This year’s retail winner was Carlos Mahecha of 7–Eleven and the supplier winner was Jessie Donovan from Optus.

Lisa Birch of 7-Eleven was named the AACS Woman of the Year, while Mary Anne Flouskas of BP was the Women in Convenience Rising Star and Melanie Stocker of 7-Eleven was the Women in Convenience Store Operator of the Year.

Embracing change

The awards evening followed the AACS Convenience Leaders Summit held during the day at the Sydney Convention Centre. Attendees heard from a range of inspirational speakers from both inside and outside the industry, and also received a detailed briefing on brand-new research commissioned by AACS on convenience shopper attitudes, motivations and behaviours.

AACS CEO Jeff Rogut said the Convenience Leaders Summit and Gala Awards take on new meaning each year as the convenience industry – and retail in general – evolves at a rapid pace.

“The landscape for the retailers and suppliers in our industry is changing before our eyes. New technology, different expectations from customers, the rise of certain categories and decline of others, shifting regulations for specific products and the role our stores can play in people’s lives are all changing,” Mr Rogut said.

“Our challenge is to embrace this change. If we do so with a positive outlook and a foundation in customer service, year-on-year growth for the Australian convenience industry is more than possible.”

Congratulations to all of the finalists and winners

AACS Supplier Awards

Food on the Go
Finalists: Mrs Mac’s, Handmade Food Co, Patties Foods
Winner: Patties Foods

Finalists: Coca-Cola Amatil, Frucor Suntory, Red Bull
Winner: Frucor Suntory

Finalists: Nestle, Ferrero, Mondelez International
Winner: Mondelez International

Finalists: Metcash, The Distributors, PFD Food Services
Winner: The Distributors

Grocery & GM
Finalists: Pacific Optics, Repco
Winner: Pacific Optics

Finalists: Peters, PepsiCo, Vitaco
Winner: PepsiCo

Finalists: Optus, Vodafone
Winner: Optus

Finalists: Richland Express, Philip Morris, Imperial Tobacco
Winner: Philip Morris

AACS Supplier of the Year Grand Champion
Finalists: Patties Foods, PepsiCo, The Distributors
Winner: PepsiCo

AACS Retailer Awards

Company Operated Store of the Year
Finalists:  7-Eleven Roxburgh Park (Vic), BP Penrith (NSW), OTR Fullarton (SA)
Winner: BP Penrith

Franchise / Independent Store of the Year
Finalists: 7-Eleven Hallam (VIC), Shell Bomaderry (NSW), APCO Newcomb (Vic)
Winner: 7-Eleven Hallam

AACS Retailer of the Year Grand Champion
Finalists: AA, BP, 7-Eleven
Winner: BP

AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Industry Awards

Finalists: Carlos Mahecha (7-Eleven), Cindy Truong (BP), Christine Chiu (BP)
Winner: Carlos Mahecha

Finalists: Jessie Donovan (Optus), Chris Barr (CMA), Daniel Gledhill (Philip Morris)
Winner: Jessie Donovan

AACS Women in Convenience Awards

Rising Star Award
Winner: Mary Anne Flouskas, BP

Store Operator of the Year Award
Winner: Melanie Stocker, 7-Eleven

Woman of the Year Award
Winner: Lisa Birch, 7-Eleven

AACS Summit Study Tour Prize
Winner: Darren Norman

Check Also

7-Eleven and Mobil team up with BJR for Bathurst 1000

7-Eleven and Mobil are collaborating with Brad Jones Racing (BJR) for The Bathurst 1000 at …